Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2016 Distinguished Service Contributions Award

Lisa Finkelstein, Northern Illinois University

Dr. Finkelstein has served SIOP in numerous roles for almost two decades, including two of the most demanding positions—SIOP Program Chair and Conference Chair. Few realize the immense amount of time and attention to detail these two positions require; roles where the chair must “basically mortgage his or her life for considerable chunks of time,” according to one former chair. For example, as a conference chair--a three-year commitment—she coordinated the efforts of more than 1,000 committee members/reviewers and the review of more than 1,000 submissions, continuing education credits, fielded daily questions from submitters and managed a highly complex schedule. In addition she introduced new program initiatives such as the Scientist-Practitioner Forum.  In short, the zest and vigor she brought to the conference chair role has had a huge impact upon the SIOP Conference as it exists today. In addition, she has served as SIOP’s Executive Board Secretary, Frontier Series Board member and Strategic Planning Committee member as well as on several other committees. She has led three major efforts related to her scholarship on the aging workforce that has raised SIOP’s visibility both nationally and globally. The most recent was to testify before a U.S. Senate committee on issued relating to the aging workforce. Her contributions to SIOP have been recognized by her election as a SIOP Fellow.

Return to All SIOP Award Winners ListFoundation Awards Winners List | Foundation page | SIOP Home