Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

APA 2012 APA Convention Travel Awards for Early Career Professionals

The Committee on Early Career Psychologists is pleased to announce the travel award program for early career members from all areas of psychology to attend the 2012 APA Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida, August 2-5, at the Orange County Convention Center.

Twenty award recipients will receive $750 to be applied toward their 2012 APA convention expenses

All early career APA members (within seven years receipt of their doctorate) are encouraged to apply. Preference will be given to applicants who are first-time attendees, or whose primary work is in basic psychological science or those who will be presenting at the 2012 convention. The submission package must include the following information:

  1. Brief statement (maximum one page) about your interest in attending the convention and how you will use this award to support your attendance, such as significant achievements in your career and leadership positions you have held as an early career psychologists (within APA, or other related scholarly or professional organizations). Indicate how you believe you would benefit from attending the convention.  Include in your statement if your primary work is in basic psychological science, if the 2012 convention will be your first APA convention and if you will be receiving other funding to help cover your expenses.
  2. If you are presenting at the 2012 APA convention, please include an abstract of your presentation along with the title and the names of co-presenters. 
  3. Include your Curriculum Vitae (the year you were awarded a doctorate in psychology should be clearly stated).

Electronic submission instructions:  Please submit all materials in a single Word document.  Put your name and the name of the award in the subject line (e.g. Jane Smith, Early Career Travel Award).

The deadline for submission of materials is March 23, 2012, midnight (EST). Email or fax all materials to Sonja Wiggins (swiggins@ap.org); fax # 202-216-7628.  Award winners will be notified in April 2012.