Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

TIP Committee: Report to Executive Board

Committee Chair Name: Wendy S. Becker

Date: March, 2010

Committee Members:
Lisa Steelman (Editor-in-Training)
Judith S. Blanton (Practitioners’ Forum)
Stuart C. Carr (Pro-Social Issues)
Scott Cassidy (Graduate Student)     
Lily Cushenbery (Graduate Student)
Marcus Dickson (Max. Classroom Capacity)
Eric Dunleavy (Legal Issues)
Joshua Fairchild (Graduate Student)
Tom Giberson (Good Science-Good Practice)
Patricia Grabarek (Graduate Student)
Arthur Gutman (Legal Issues)
Milt Hakel (Foundation Spotlight)
Scott Highhouse (History)
Rachel Hoult (Graduate Student)
Jamie Madigan (Good Science-Good Practice)
David Pollack (Conferences & Meetings)
Sylvia G. Roch (Teaching Forum)
Shin-I-Shih (Graduate Student)
Rob Silzer (Practice Perspectives)
Anna L. Sackett (Editorial Assistant)
Katina Sawyer (Graduate Student)
Shin-I-Shih (Graduate Student)
Rob Silzer (Practitioner Perspectives)
Amie Skattebo (Graduate Student)
Lori Foster Thompson (Spotlight on Global I-O)
Christian Thoroughgood (Graduate Student)
Michael Zickar (History)
Strategic Planning Goals: (Please highlight committee goals related to the advocacy of SIOP’s Strategic Planning Goals).
All TIP goals pertain to one or more of the SIOP strategic planning goals.
SIOP Vision: To be recognized as the premier professional group committed to advancing the science and practice of the psychology of work.
SIOP Goals: SIOP will become the…
1.  Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology.
2.  Advocate and champion of I-O psychology to policy makers. 
3.  Organization of choice of I-O professionals. 
4.  Model of integrated scientist–practitioner effectiveness that values research, practice, and education equally and seeks higher standards in all three areas. 
Accomplishments Toward Goals
1.      Feature the annual conference in the July 2009 issue.
2.      Feature the Leading Edge conference in the January, 2010 issue.
3.      Cultivate an international community and promote awareness of international issues.
On-going Action: 
(1) The ‘Spotlight on Global I-O’ column was renamed to emphasize the promotion of I-O’s international community.
(2) Pro-Social I-O debuted as an editorial column; columnist Stu Carr will feature interviews with international leaders on issues related to IO and global change.
4.      Evaluate member satisfaction with TIP and identify improvements.
On-going Action: Future SIOP member surveys will be analyzed and reviewed for identification of areas of improvements in TIP.
5.      Continue the excellence and quality established by predecessors.
On-going Action: 
(1) We successfully completed the process to have TIP listed in Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities. The objective is so that TIP’s authors are acknowledged in their academic departments for sending their best work to TIP.
(2) All TIP columns and submissions continue to be reviewed for appropriateness, relevance, and quality; assistance in reviewing is provided by the editorial board and external reviewers.
(3) We continue to receive many photographs for consideration for the cover of TIP. The goal is to recognize the creativity and talent of SIOP members and staff. We continue to receive many positive comments on the “new look” of TIP.
6.      Anticipate and ensure a smooth transition between current editor and new editor, effective April 2010.
On-going Action: 
(1)   Discussions were initiated by past-president Gary Latham and current president Kurt Kraiger on appointing a new editor for TIP. Lori Foster Thompson was identified and Lori “shadowed” the current editor for three publication cycles of TIP. However, Lori is unable to assume the duty. A new selection process was initiated by Scott Highhouse and involved the input of current president Kurt Kraiger, president-elect Ed Salas, and the current TIP editor. Lisa Steelman was selected. Lisa “shadowed” the editorial process for the April, 2010 issue and will begin her editorial term with the July, 2010 issue. The outgoing Editor is available for support during the transition.
(2)   Editor was interviewed by Dianne Stone who was completing a job analysis of the TIP Editor position. The tasks, duties and responsibilities of TIP editor were discussed.
Updates or Comments From Chair:
(1) The April 2010 issue represents the 12th issue of my 12 issue (3-year) editorial term.
(2) We received an outpouring of material concerning long-time TIP contributor Frank Landy, who died in January, 2010. A special section in April, 2010 will feature remembrances from colleagues and friends, including the cover photo. The Editor dedicated the April 2010 TIP to Frank.
(3) Special technical note: The Editor asked the Administrative Office to investigate an online submission process for TIP. The Administrative Office has now completed a beta site for online submissions. This submission process will be reviewed for consideration by the new Editor.
Editorial Board Changes:
(1)   A new column, “Foundation Spotlight” debuted in the January, 2010 issue in order to highlight the work of the Foundation. Milt Hakel was added to the Editorial Board and will take responsibility for the new column.
(2)   A new column, “Practitioners’ Forum” has been initiated in order to highlight the work of I-O practitioners. Judy Blanton was added to the Editorial Board.
(3)   A new column, “Max. Classroom Capacity” has been initiated to focus on teaching excellence. Marcus W. Dickson continues on the Editorial Board.
(4)   Tom Giberson joins Jamie Madigan in the column, “Good Science- Good Practice.” Tom replaces Marcus Dickson.
(5)   Derek Avery completed his term on the Editorial Board (Diversity).
(6)   A new graduate student team (Penn State University) was selected to lead the column, “TIP-TOPics for Students.” Scott Cassidy, Patricia Grabarek, Shin-I-Shih, Lily Cushenberry, Christian Thoroughgood, Amie Skattebo, Katina Sawyer, Rachel Hoult, and Joshua Fairchild joined the Editorial Board. Each graduate student takes reponsibility for leading a column.
The outgoing Editor would like to thank all editorial board members for their outstanding contributions over the past three years. In addition, thanks to contributors and reviewers for their hard work on featured articles. Thanks to President Kurt Kraiger and Past-Presidents Gary Latham and Lois Tetrick for the ‘Message From Your President’ column. Thanks to Clif Boutelle, who provides regular columns and editorial support. Thanks to Anna Sackett for providing editorial support and for managing the IOTAs column. A special thank you to the SIOP Administrative Office, especially Jen Baker, Lori Peake and Dave Nershi, for their support and professionalism in making TIP a success throughout my tenure. I couldn’t have done it with you!
Respectfully submitted,
Wendy S. Becker
Shippensburg University
John L. Grove College of Business
1872 Old Main Drive
Shippensburg, PA 17257-2299
Phone: 717-477-1410
Fax: 717-477-4068
E-mail wsbecker@ship.edu; wbecker@siop.org