Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2010 APA Program Committee Goals and Progress Report Form

Committee Chair Name: David Mayer
Date: December 28, 2009

Goals Report
X  Progress Report
Committee Members:
We have 18 people who are on the committee and are serving as reviewers.
Strategic Planning Goals:
Our committee goals are most relevant to the SIOP strategic goal of being a “Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology” and to the SIOP Vision of being “recognized as the premier professional group committed to advancing the science and practice of the psychology of work.”
1.      Encourage Division 14 members’ submissions to and attendance at the 2010 APA conference. 
Action: We will continue standard practice of advertising in TIP and other media as appropriate. We also will continue the practice of asking SIOP submitters if they would be willing to consider presenting their work at APA if there is not room on the SIOP program.
Summer 2009 Progress: We willinclude an advertisement in the January TIP (the deadline is November 1st). As indicated in the spring report we will solicit papers from SIOP submitters whose papers were not accepted for SIOP.
Fall, Winter 2009 Progress: We included an advertisement on the SIOP web page and also sent an e-mail that went out to all SIOP members. We also invited submitters who were rejected from SIOP to be a part of the APA program.
2.      Assemble experienced review committee.
Action: We have assembled a diverse and highly qualified review team. We will supplement the current list with additional members invited by the incoming program chair and potentially through other sources.
Summer 2009 Progress: As indicated in the spring, our committee is already a good size but we will hopefully add a few new members based on Dr. Fritzche’s suggestions.
Fall, Winter 2009 Progress: We added a couple of members and have a total of 18 members.
3.      Actively seek out APA symposia that would be of mutual interest to Division 14 members and members from other divisions to increase Division 14 exposure. Lead and support cross-cutting initiatives that involve multiple divisions for APA programming.
Action: We will continue the current practice of coordinating with the SIOP conference chair to identify quality proposals that are not accepted for the SIOP conference.
Summer 2009 Progress: We will be in touch with the SIOP conference chair in the coming months once decisions are made about SIOP submissions.
Fall, Winter 2009 Progress: We will co-sponsor an event with Division 5. In addition, we will co-sponsor a symposia on teams with Division 8.
4.      Encourage local I-O involvement in the APA conference. 
Action: We will actively solicit submissions from local I-O psychologists using local I-O groups and advertising mechanisms. We also will invite distinguished SIOP members from the San Diego area to participate in the program. As one example, Dr. Ben Schneider may be invited to give an address at the conference. We will solicit advice from other program committee members to suggest other possible San Diego-area SIOP members for additional sessions and we will attempt to identify an appropriate San Diego area I-O group we can contact to encourage participation.
Summer 2009 Progress: We plan to contact some speakers and key local groups in the fall.
Fall, Winter 2009 Progress: We contacted several people. We contacted Rich Klimoski who is helping organize the “evidence-based practice” session. We contacted Mark and Karen Ehrhart at SDSU but they are unable to include a session. We contact David Morris, the president of the San Diego I/O psychologists association, and hope to hear from him soon.
 5.      Develop sessions that attract APA attendees who are not SIOP members for the purpose of exposing attendees to the science, practice, and/or teaching of I-O psychology. 
Action: The 2008 program chair, Chris Robert, organized a session titled “Evidence-based Practice in I-O Psychology” that included Richard Klimoski and Vicki Vandaveer as co-chairs, and all of our SIOP representatives to the APA Council (Drs. Dipboye, Knapp, Salas, Barnes-Farrell, and Cortina) as panelists. Further, the 2009 program chair, Bob Sinclair, organized a similar session for the 2009 conference. Thus, we will likely put together a related session at the 2010 conference. Finally, our traditional jointly-sponsored reception with Division 5 should help continue to expose non-members to I-O psychology. 
Summer 2009 Progress: We received feedback from the former chair, Bob Sinclair, who said this session was a success and many people would be willing to serve again. I plan to contact Rich Klimoski and others this fall. Also, Bob said Division 5 takes the lead in sponsoring the joint reception but I plan to contact the Division 5 chair as well.
Fall, Winter 2009 Progress: We contacted Rich Klimoski and he is organizing a session. We were in contact with the chairs from Division 5 and 8 and have some joint sessions in the works.
Updates or Comments From Chair:
Almost all of the reviews are in. All of the rejected SIOP submissions that were accepted for APA are now being entered into the submission web site. The program will be completed by the 1/24 deadline.

2010 APA Program Committee Roster – Division 14 (As of December 2009)

Program Chair
David Mayer
University of Michigan
Co-Chair/Incoming Chair
Barbara Fritzsche
University of Central Florida
Jennifer Bott
Ball State University
Thomas Britt
Clemson University
Reeshad Dalal
George Mason University
Leslie DeChurch
University of Central Florida
Mark Ehrhart
San Diego State University
Jason Etchegaray
University of Texas-Houston
Vicki Magley
University of Connecticut
Alan Mead
Illinois Institute of Technology
Jacqueline Mitchelson
Auburn University
Philip Moberg
North Kentucky University
Daniel Newman
University of Illinois
Lisa Nishii
Cornell University
Lindsay Sears
Clemson University
Robert Sinclair
Clemson University
Mo Wang
University of Maryland
Jonathan Ziegert
Drexel University