Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

 SIOP Professional Practice Committee

Committee Update
Joan Brannick, Chair
2009-2010 Committee Members
Alex Alonso, Joan Brannick (Chair), Rich Cober, Deb Cohen, David Dickter, Anna Erickson, Debbie Gebhardt, Van Latham, Carl Persing, David Peterson, Mark Poteet, Heather Prather, William Shepherd, Jodi Simco, Nancy Tippins, Mo Wang
EB Action Item
Need approval on attached Mentoring Proposal. This proposal has been revised since the fall 2009 EB meeting based on feedback from Kurt Kraiger, Gary Latham, Cristina Banks, and others on the Professional Practice Committee.
Professional Practice Committee Update (September-December 2009)
See below the list of things that this committee has accomplished since the last EB meeting in September 2009:
1. APA Future of Psychology Practice Summit
Joan Brannick attended the APA Future of Psychology Practice Task Force meeting in Washington, DC in mid-September 2009.  At this meeting, the Task Force discussed the results from the summit in May 2009.  The Task Force also drafted an outline of the final report that would be submitted to the APA Board of Directors.  After the meeting, Joan Brannick contributed content and reviewed drafts of the final report before it was submitted to the APA Board of Directors.  APA’s Board of Directors approved the report in December 2009 and recommended that the APA Council do the same.  The next two APA Presidents, Carole Goodheart and Melba Vasquez, will be following through on various recommendations made in the Task Force’s report during their terms as President.
2. SIOP Salary Review
The Professional Practice Committee provided feedback on survey content and pilot tested the SIOP Salary Survey that will be administered in early 2010.
3. SIOP “Top 50 Healthiest Workplaces” Proposal
Joan Brannick participated in conference calls with Kurt Kraiger, Ed Salas, and Cris Banks on the “Top 50 Healthiest Workplaces” concept.  She also provided feedback on the “Top 50 Healthiest Workplaces” proposal.
4. APA Innovative Practice Award Citations
Based on Rich Cober’s nomination, Alex Alonso was awarded APA’s Innovative Practice Award Citation.  Alex is the third SIOP member to receive this honor in 2009.  David Baker and Cristina Banks also received this award based on nominations from Professional Practice Committee members.
5. 2010 SIOP Conference
This committee submitted two Professional Practice program ideas to be considered as part of the EB block of time at the 2010 SIOP Conference.  One program provides an update of key committee initiatives including Science for HR, Mentoring, and the other committee updates (Joan Brannick is proposed moderator for this session).  The other program is a discussion with the two APA innovative practice award winners – David Baker and Cris Banks (Alex Alonso and Joan Brannick are co-moderators for this session).  The program about Professional Practice Committee updates on key committee initiatives was accepted as part of the EB block of time.  The program about APA innovative practice award winners was NOT accepted as part of the EB block of time.  It was also NOT accepted as part of the SIOP conference program. 
6. I/O@Work Website
Professional Practice Committee members reviewed and provided feedback to Alison Mallard about the www.ioatwork.com website.  Joan Brannick participated in conference calls with Alison Mallard, Cristina Banks, and Kurt Kraiger to explore the options and benefits of a possible collaboration between SIOP and Alison Mallard, the creator of the I/O@Work website.
7. Professional Practice Subcommittee Progress
The following information about the status of various subcommittees’ work is from our conference call on July 31, 2009.  Another call is scheduled for Monday, August 31, 2009.  Per a request by the SIOP office, this document was submitted to the SIOP office for inclusion in the SIOP EB packets on August 28, 2009.
a. Practitioner Career Study – Rich Cober reported that the Practitioner Career Study proposal was not approved at the Fall EB meeting.  In October, Rich participated in discussions with Kurt Kraiger, Cris Banks, and Joan Brannick to better understand the rationale for the EB’s decision on this matter.  Given other priorities that SIOP is pursuing to address practitioner needs and interests, it was felt that this study, as presented in the proposal, would not, at this time, provide sufficient value (relative to the costs) to practitioners and to SIOP.

b. Practitioner Mentoring – Mark Poteet reported that this subcommittee has collected additional data from SIOP members and revised the mentoring proposal that was submitted/discussed at the Fall EB meeting. The revised proposal is attached to this document and the Professional Practice Committee requests that the EB approve this proposal at the winter meeting.

c. Science for HR – Nancy Tippins provided an update on this subcommittee’s work.  See notes attached to this document.  

d. International Affairs – Per a request from Alex Alonso and Stephanie Klein, the Professional Practice  Committee reviewed and provided feedback on the proposal for SIOP’s response to ISO standards for testing in the workplace

e. Speech Subcommittee – Given priorities and other work requested of the EB (e.g., review of the SIOP Salary Survey), this initiative has been put on the back burner for now. 

f. Early Career Practitioner Award – Anna Erickson reported that the Awards Committee is finalizing 2010 award nominations.  When that process is complete, she said she expects the Awards Committee to begin focusing on the creation of the criteria, nomination and review process for the Early Career Practitioner Award.  Deb Cohen and Joan Brannick agreed to meet with Anna by phone to discuss next steps.  The call has yet to be scheduled. 
Professional Practice Committee Next Steps (January-April 2010)
The Professional Practice Committee anticipates the following work to be completed between now and the SIOP EB meeting in April 2010:
1. Assuming SIOP EB approval on the mentoring program proposal, this subcommittee will begin moving forward on those initiatives.
2. The remaining subcommittees (Science for HR, etc.) will continue moving forward on these initiatives.
3. The Professional Practice Committee will continue to provide feedback and other work, on an as requested basis, on such initiatives as the SIOP Salary Survey, the ISO standards for testing in the workplace, the I/O@Work website and the “Top 50 Healthiest Workplaces.”
If you have any questions or if you need more information about any of the information contained in this committee update, contact Joan Brannick via email at joan@brannickhr.com or by phone at (813) 672-0500.
SIOP Science for HR (submitted by N. Tippins)
December 17, 2009
The commitments by authors to write papers on particular topics are listed in the table below:
Academic Author
Full Time Practitioner Author
Board Review Team
Executive dysfunction/derailment (identification, addressing, prevention)
Morgan McCall

Cindy McCauley
Joel Moses
Milt Hakel
Marilyn Gowing
Leaetta Hough
December 2009
Does “pay for skills” work?  How to do it effectively?
Herb Heneman
Gerry Ledford
Gary Latham
Jeff McHenry
Sara Rynes
November 2010
Maximizing/optimizing person-organization fit
Amy Kristof-Brown
Ben Schneider
Lois Tetrick
Ann Marie Ryan
Wally Borman
We are still trying to identify authors for the following topics:

Identifying leaders
Developing leaders
Building a “high-performance” work organization
SHRM has written a Memorandum of Understanding between SHRM and SIOP that covers the use of the content and has been sent to Kurt Kraiger and Dave Nershi for review.