Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2009 APA Program Committee Goals and Progress Report Form


Committee Chair Name: Robert R. Sinclair

Date: June 6, 2008

X Goals Report
Committee Members:
I have confirmed 17 people who have agreed to serve on the committee this year (see the attachment for the complete list of members). Consistent with our past practice, the incoming chair, Dr. David Mayer, also will invite 5-10 additional SIOP members to participate. Last year’s committee included 21 members; with Dr Mayer’s new participants we should have a total committee membership of approximately 25 members. Thus, the committee is sufficiently staffed to continue to provide multiple reviews of all submissions while keeping reviewer workload light. I will submit an updated roster when Dr. Mayer has confirmed the additional participants.
Strategic Planning Goals:
Our committee goals are most relevant to the SIOP strategic goal of being a “Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology” and to the SIOP Vision of being “recognized as the premier professional group committed to advancing the science and practice of the psychology of work.”
1.      Encourage Division 14 members’ submissions to and attendance at the 2009 APA conference. 
Action: We will continue standard practice of advertising in TIP and other media as appropriate. We also will continue the practice of asking SIOP submitters if they would be willing to consider presenting their work at APA if there is not room on the SIOP program.
2.      Assemble experienced review committee.
Action: We have assembled a diverse and highly qualified review team. We will supplement current list with additional members invited by the incoming program chair and potentially through other sources, such as SIOP members who indicated interest in participating on their committee volunteer forms.
3.      Actively seek out APA symposia that would be of mutual interest to Division 14 members and members from other divisions to increase Division 14 exposure. Lead and support cross-cutting initiatives that involve multiple divisions for APA programming.
Action: We will continue the current practice of coordinating with the SIOP conference chair to identify quality proposals that are not accepted for the SIOP conference. We also have begun discussions with Division 13 to co-sponsor a session or event of mutual interest, such as a session focused on organizational consulting. Judith Blanton initiated this idea and offered to help connect us with local area consultants who might be willing to participate. 
4.      Encourage local I-O involvement in the APA conference. 
Action: We will actively solicit submissions from local I-O psychologists using local I-O groups and advertising mechanisms. We also will invite distinguished SIOP members from the Toronto area to participate in the program. As one example, Dr. Gary Latham has tentatively agreed to give an invited address at the conference. Program committee members have suggested other possible Toronto-area SIOP members for additional sessions and we will attempt to identify an appropriate Toronto area I-O group we can contact to encourage participation. Finally, as noted above, we are exploring the possibility of a joint session with Division 13 that would potentially include local area practitioner participants.
5.      Develop sessions that attract APA attendees who are not SIOP members for the purpose of exposing attendees to the science, practice, and/or teaching of I-O psychology. 
Action: The 2008 program chair, Chris Robert, organized a session titled “Evidence-based Practice in I-O Psychology” that included Richard Klimoski and Vicki Vandaveer as co-chairs, and all of our SIOP representatives to the APA Council (Drs. Dipboye, Knapp, Salas, Barnes-Farrell, and Cortina) as panelists. After the conference, we will seek feedback from the participants on this session goes. Assuming the feedback is positive, we plan to hold another such session at the 2009 conference and hope to establish this session as a tradition for SIOP’s APA Council Representatives. We also have invited Dr. Kurt Kraiger to give an address at the conference as well from his vantage point as SIOP president. As noted above, we are exploring the possibility of joint programming with Division 13. Finally, our traditional jointly-sponsored reception with Division 5 should help continue to expose non-members to I-O psychology. 
Updates or Comments From Chair:

2009 APA Program Committee Roster – Division 14 (As of June 2008)
Suzanne Bell
DePaul University
Jennifer Bott
Ball State University
Tom Britt
Clemson University
Chris Cunningham
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Resshad Dalal
George Mason University
Jason Etchegaray
University of Texas
Jacqueline K. Mitchelson,
Auburn University
Jesse S. Michel
Florida International University
Steve Jex
Bowling Green State University
Vicky Magley
University of Connecticut
David Mayer (Incoming Chair)
University of Central Florida
Alan D. Mead
Illinois Institute of Technology
Philip Moberg
Northern Kentucky University
John C. Scott
APT Inc.
Robert Sinclair
Clemson University
Jeff Thomas,
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Mo Wang
Portland State University