Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2007 APA Program Committee Goals and Progress Report Form

Committee Chair Name: Tahira Probst
Date: June 15, 2006

Committee Members:

Note: The final committee roster will comprise the 10 confirmed continuing members noted below plus the 8 new members recruited since our original goals report. If any of the former members contact me prior to the APA reviewing period, they will be added to the program committee.  

Confirmed Continuing Members:
Janet Barnes-Farrell
Joyce E. Bono
Jennifer Bott
Jason M. Etchegaray
Alan Mead
Tahira Probst, Chair
Chris Robert, Incoming Chair
John Scott
Carol W. Timmreck
Sara P. Weiner

New Members:
Jim Breaugh (jbreaugh@umsl.edu)
Reeshad Delal (rsdalal@psych.purdue.edu)
Marcus Dickson (marcus.dickson@adelphia.net)
Tom Dougherty (doughertyt@missouri.edu)
Lee Konczak (Lee.Konczak@anheuser-busch.com)
Phil Moberg (mobergp@nku.edu)
Dan Turban (turband@missouri.edu)
Mo Wang (mw@pdx.edu)

Retiring Members:
Zinta Byrne
Michael M. Harris
Daniel V. Lezotte

Former Members Not Responding to My Inquiry:
Bracken, David W.
Campbell, Wanda J.
Church, Allan H.
Dwight, Stephen A.
Foster, Jessica B.
Hanges, Paul J.
Locklear, Toni S.
Lundquist, Kathleen Kappy
Maurer, Todd J.
Moomaw, Michael E.
Rose, Dale S.
Stang, Susan W.
Stanton, Jeffrey M.
Steinhaus, Stephen D.
Subramony, Mahesh V.
Strategic Planning Goals: (Please highlight committee goals related to the advocacy of SIOP’s Strategic Planning Goals)

Our committee goals are primarily aimed at meeting SIOP’s Strategic Goal #1: To become “the Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology” via “greater outreach to the broader field of psychology and related disciplines and organizations” (i.e., APA and other APA divisions with similar interests).

1. Encourage Division 14 members’ submissions to and attendance at the 2007 APA conference. 

Action:  Advertise submission deadlines through TIP and other communication vehicles as appropriate. In addition, we are coordinating this year’s SIOP submissions with APA submissions by asking SIOP submitters if they would be willing to consider presenting their work at APA if there is not room on the SIOP program.

2. Actively seek out APA symposia that would be of mutual interest to Division 14 members and members from other divisions to increase Division 14 exposure. Lead and support cross-cutting initiatives that involve multiple divisions for APA programming.

Action: Work cooperatively with current SIOP program chair to identify quality proposals that are not accepted for the SIOP conference. Work cooperatively with current APS program chair for Division 14 to maximize Division 14's exposure by matching symposia topics to the interests of the majority of attendees at both conferences (e.g., testing topics for APA whereas more cognitive topics for APS). When appropriate, initiate and/or approve co-sponsorship of APA symposia.  For example, in 2006, Division 14 so-sponsored an APA symposium with CEMRRAT2 and BAPPI to showcase some of the exemplary Minority Recruitment Retention and Training programs funded by CEMRRAT2. 

3. Assemble experienced review committee.

Action: Contact all 2006 APA Program members to determine final roster of committee members.  Supplement with new reviewers, including those in the San Francisco area, where the 2007 APA conference will be held.  

4. Encourage local I/O involvement in the APA conference. 

Action: Actively solicit submissions from local I/O psychologists via local I/O groups and advertising mechanisms.  Request assistance from local SIOP members to help with arrangements for SIOP reception at APA.  Invite distinguished local SIOP member(s) as keynote speaker(s). Encourage local SIOP members to serve as program reviewers.

Updates or Comments From Chair:
1) We have also secured permission from APA to streamline our reviewing process and hopefully increase SIOP’s attendance at APA by allowing submitters to SIOP to indicate if they wish their submission to be considered for APA should there not be enough room on the SIOP program for them.  As a result of this new process, 1) we hope to have higher SIOP attendance at APA; and 2) joint SIOP/APA submissions will only be reviewed once by the SIOP program committee and then evaluated by the APA program chair.  Lillian Eby has already drafted language to reflect this change in the SIOP Call for Submissions. (Goal #1)

2) Since our initial goals report, we have added 8 new members to the APA Program Committee. (Goal #3)