Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2011 APA Program Committee Goals and Progress Report Form

Committee Chair Name: Barbara Fritzsche
Date: December 22, 2010

Progress Report
Committee Members:
Karin Orvis (Incoming Chair) and I have identified 18 people (17 members and 1 student affiliate) who have agreed to be reviewers.
Strategic Planning Goals:
Our committee goals are most relevant to the SIOP strategic goal of being a “Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology” and to the SIOP Vision of being “recognized as the premier professional group committed to advancing the science and practice of the psychology of work.”
1.      Encourage Division 14 members’ submissions to and attendance at the 2011 APA conference. 
Action: We will continue standard practice of advertising in TIP and other media as appropriate. We also will continue the practice of asking SIOP submitters if they would be willing to consider presenting their work at APA if there is not room on the SIOP program.
Fall 2010 Progress: We solicited papers from SIOP submitters whose papers were not accepted for SIOP. At this time, we have accepted 80 posters that were not accepted for SIOP for inclusion in the APA program.
2.      Assemble experienced review committee.
Action: We have assembled a diverse and highly qualified review team.
Fall 2010 Progress:  Dr. Orvis and I have assembled a diverse and highly qualified review team. They are currently reviewing APA submissions.
3.      Actively seek out APA symposia that would be of mutual interest to Division 14 members and members from other divisions to increase Division 14 exposure. Lead and support cross-cutting initiatives that involve multiple divisions for APA programming.
Action: We will continue the current practice of coordinating with the SIOP conference chair to identify quality proposals that are not accepted for the SIOP conference.
Fall 2010 Progress: Dr. Battista, SIOP conference chair, has given me access to the papers not accepted for the SIOP conference.  I have accepted the top-rated papers for the APA conference.
4.      Encourage local I-O involvement in the APA conference. 
Action: We will actively solicit submissions from local I-O psychologists using local I-O groups and advertising mechanisms. We also will invite distinguished SIOP members from the Washington, D.C. area to participate in the program. We will solicit advice from other program committee members to suggest other possible Washington, D.C.-area SIOP members for additional sessions and we will attempt to identify an appropriate D.C. area I-O group we can contact to encourage participation.
Fall 2010 Progress: We have lined up Dr. Aharon Tziner to speak. I will seek additional speakers prior to the January program deadline.
 5.      Develop sessions that attract APA attendees who are not SIOP members for the purpose of exposing attendees to the science, practice, and/or teaching of I-O psychology. 
Action: Over the past few years, the APA program chairs have organized a session about evidence-based practice in I-O Psychology that included SIOP representatives to the APA Council and other well-known panelists. We will likely put together a related session at the 2011 conference. Finally, our traditional jointly-sponsored reception with Division 5 should help continue to expose non-members to I-O psychology. 
Fall 2010 Progress: Dr. Strack, Division 5 Program Chair, and I are coordinating the joint reception.
Updates or Comments From Chair:

2011 APA Program Committee Roster – Division 14

Program Chair
Barbara Fritzsche
University of Central Florida
Co-Chair/Incoming Chair
Karin Orvis
Old Dominion University
William Wooten
University of Central Florida
Roni Reiter-Palmon
University of Omaha
Aharon Tziner
Netanya Academic College
Nancy Chepenik
University of Central Florida
Laura Gallaher
Justin Marcus
University of Central Florida
Patrick Rosopa
Clemson University
C. Shawn Burke
University of Central Florida
Renee DeRouin
Marriott Vacation Club International
Robert Goldsmith
Robert Goldsmith and Associates
Randy Astwood
Naval Air Warfare Center – Training Systems Division
Kara Orvis
Krista Ratwani
Gabrielle Wood
Christopher Newport University
Debbie Major
Old Dominion University
Richard Landers
Old Dominion University
Huy Le
TUI University
Wendy Bedwell (student affiliate)
University of Central Florida