Foundation
Jobs
Meetings
Members
Membership
Partners
Publications
Resources
Services

 

 
SIOP Professional Practice Committee Initial Goals Report

June 25, 2007
Chair:
   Rob Silzer (robsilzer@prodigy.net)

Committee Members:
Alana Cober (alana.cober@dhs.gov
Anna Erickson (aerickson@questarweb.com)
David Dickter (dndmail1@aol.com)
Deb Gebhardt (dlgebhardt@humanperfsys.com
Dianne Maranto (dbmaran@nsa.gov
Greg Robinson (grobinson@3dgroup.net
Joy Hazucha (joy.hazucha@personneldecisions.com )
Julia McElreath (julia.mcelreath@dhs.gov)
Matt Smith (matthew.r.smith@ge.com)
Maury Buster (mbuster@personnel.state.al.us)
Rich Cober (richard.cober@marriott.com)
Tanya Delany (tdelany@us.ibm.com)
Ted Hayes (ted_hayes@gallup.com)
Thomas Walk (twalk@calipercorp.com)
Van Latham (vlatham@pathpointconsulting.com)
William Shepherd (william.shepherd@skyfi.com)


Initial Working Goals

1.    Practitioner Survey.  

 Write Survey proposal
 Get support of SIOP EC
 Outline Project plan
 Draft & distribute survey
 Analyze survey results
 Outline implications and initiatives for SIOP
 Possible issues

• What do they want from SIOP? 
•  What are their work activities?
• Where do they get their professional knowledge?
• What forms of professional recognition do they value?
• What provides them with visibility and recognition in the workplace? 
• What other professional associations do they have?   Do they want?
• How are we positioned in the marketplace for I/O psychology services?
• What else should we be doing?
• Where does the scientist-practitioner approach provide value?
• What are important International issues for practitioners?
• What are important professional issues – licensing, etc.
• Other issues

SIOP Strategic Goals:  
• Organization of choice of I-O professionals. 
• Advocate and champion of I-O psychology to policy makers

2.     Practitioner Career Study. 

 Write Career study proposal
 Get support of SIOP EC
 Write Study Project & Research plan
 Complete Study
 Analyze results
 Outline implications and initiatives for SIOP
 Possible outcomes

• Practitioner Competency Model
• Practitioner Career Road Map, including career stages and useful early career experiences.
• Practitioners Education and Training Guidelines
• Practitioner Performance Guidelines 

SIOP Strategic Goal:
• Model of integrated scientist–practitioner effectiveness that values research, practice, and education equally and seeks higher standards in all three areas

 

3. SIOP Conference Program  (in San Francisco)  

 Identify Program Ideas
 Organize Program submissions
 Submit to Program committee either as special events or through regular submission process
 Possible ideas

• Practitioner services session
• International Symposium
• Expert Practitioner Content talk 
• Practitioner Early Career Consortium
• Debate on Professional Issues
• Fishbowl discussion with academics & practitioners
• High performance Practitioner Symposium
• Practitioner Training Debate   

 SIOP Strategic Goals:
• Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology
• Model of integrated scientist–practitioner effectiveness that values research, practice, and  education equally and seeks higher standards in all three areas

4.   International Community Bridges. 

 Identify specific objectives
 Outline action plans to achieve objectives
 Possible initiatives include:

• Identify specific liaisons with targeted international organizations
• Start specific initiatives with each


SIOP Strategic Goals:  
• Model of integrated scientist–practitioner effectiveness that values research, practice, and  education equally and seeks higher standards in all three areas
• Visible and trusted authority on work-related psychology

        
5. Practitioner – Academic Connections.

 Identify specific objectives
 Outline action plans to achieve objectives
 Possible initiatives include:

•  A Listserv that identifies practitioner data sets that are available to academics for research.  
•  An award for the best collaboration resulting from this effort

SIOP Strategic Goals:  
• Model of integrated scientist–practitioner effectiveness that values research, practice, and  education equally and seeks higher standards in all three areas


 

Questions/Comments or Concerns contact us at siop@siop.org
© 2006 Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology, Inc. All rights reserved