June 2011

Headlines (click a headline to go directly to the story)

LEC Speakers Announced

The Virtual Workforce: Designing, Leading, and Optimizing,” SIOP’s 7th annual Leading Edge Consortium, will bring together thought leaders from academia and practice in a day-and-a-half event focusing on the exciting topic of the virtual workforce. Registration is now open for this event, which will take place October 14-15, 2011 at the Hilton Seelbach in Louisville, Kentucky.

Kurt Kraiger will serve as General Chair for this year’s LEC, along with Practice Chair Andrea Goldberg, Science Chair Lori Foster Thompson, and Research Chair Allen Kraut. Courtney Hunt (founder of the Social Media in Organizations Community) and Wayne Cascio will serve as keynote speakers.

The current list of speakers and moderators includes:

Nate Allen, United States Army
Janet Barnes-Farrell, University of Connecticut
Michael Bazigos, IBM Corporation
Wayne Cascio, University of Colorado at Denver
Kris Fenlason, 3M Company
Kevin Ford, Michigan State University
Lori Foster Thompson, North Carolina State University
Andrea Goldberg, Digital Culture Consulting, LLC
Tim Golden, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Sandra Hartog, Sandra Hartog & Associates/Fenestra, Inc
Courtney Hunt, Renaissance Strategic Solutions
Sarah Johnson, CLC Genesee
Kurt Kraiger, Colorado State University
Allen Kraut, Baruch College, CUNY (emeritus)
Leona Lobell, University of Phoenix
Jacob McNulty, Orbital RPM
Nathan Mondragon, Taleo
Julia Smith, University of Phoenix
Nancy Tippins, Valtera
Brian Welle, Google

For more information, including updates to the speaker list, bios, and sessions, visit the Leading Edge Consortium page or register now here!

back to top

Remember to Renew Your Dues!

Dues renewal season is here—continue to take full advantage of the many benefits of SIOP membership, outlined here, by renewing today!  Professional membership dues are $69 and student/retired member dues are $34.50. Dues payment instructions can be found here.

Payments are due by June 30, 2011.

While you have your credit card handy, please consider making a donation to the SIOP Foundation, the charitable organization dedicated to funding the future of I-O psychology research and leadership. A donation checkbox can be found on the payment screen during the dues payment process.

Thanks in advance for your membership renewal!

back to top

SIOP Awards Deadline Approaches

SIOP and the SIOP Foundation are pleased to announce the addition of two new awards this year, the Wiley Award for Excellence in Survey Research and The Hogan Award for Personality and Work Performance. They, along with several other awards, are now open for nominations through June 30, 2011. We encourage you to take the time now to nominate at least one deserving individual (or paper) for one of the following awards:

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award
Distinguished Professional Contributions Award
Distinguished Service Contributions Award
Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award – Practice
Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award – Science
Distinguished Teaching Contribution Award
S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Research Award
William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award
M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace
Raymond A. Katzell Award for I-O Psychology
Wiley Award for Excellence in Survey Research
Joyce and Robert Hogan Award for Personality and Work Performance

Help us recognize those who make important contributions to our field and our society by nominating deserving individuals for our awards! You may nominate more than one individual for an award, and you may make nominations for multiple awards. For more information on criteria and nomination procedures, please see the April issue of TIP or view it online here.

Please begin your online nomination today!

back to top

Handbook Wins AHRD Book of the Year

The Academy of Human Resource Development recently announced that SIOP’s Handbook of Workplace Assessment: Evidence-Based Practices for Selecting and Developing Organizational Talent was awarded the 2010 R. Wayne Pace HRD Book of the Year!
The Handbook of Workplace Assessment (Pfeiffer, 2010), part of the SIOP Professional Practice series, was edited by John C. Scott, COO of APTMetrics, and Douglas H. Reynolds, vice president of Assessment Technology at Development Dimensions International and leverages the thinking of a world-renowned group of authors to present cutting-edge theory and practice in the field of assessment. The handbook is now available on the SIOP Store.

The R. Wayne Pace HRD Book of the Year Award is presented by the Academy of Human Resource Development for the outstanding book that advances the theory and/or practice of the profession. Books submitted for consideration for the award focus on human resource development, organization development, personnel training and development, or more specific HRD areas. For more information about requirements, past winners, and submitting nominations, visit AHRD’s homepage here.

back to top

APA Awards Deadlines Near

The American Psychological Association Science Directorate is sponsoring two awards with a September 15 application deadline and invites interested graduate students to apply. For both awards, applications are welcome from graduate students at any stage of their training and in any research specialty area. Questions can be directed to the Science Directorate via e-mail at science@apa.org or telephone at 202-336-6000.

APA Dissertation Research Awards

Sponsored by the APA Science Directorate, the Dissertation Research Award assists science-oriented doctoral students of psychology with research costs. In 2011, the Science Directorate will grant up to 30 awards of $1,000 each as well as several awards of up to $5,000 each to students whose dissertation research reflects excellence in scientific psychology. The application deadline is September 15, 2011.

For more details about each award, including eligibility requirements and application materials, click here.

Early Graduate Student Researcher Awards

The Early Graduate Student Research Awards, sponsored by the APA Science Student Council, recognize students who demonstrate outstanding research abilities early in their graduate training (i.e., within the first three years of doctoral study). Both overall research experience and specific completed research projects are considered in selecting awardees.
Up to three awards are given each year, drawn from basic science, applied science, and interdisciplinary science areas. Each Early Graduate Student Research Award is in the amount of $1,000. The application deadline is September 15, 2011.  For more details about the awards, including eligibility requirements and application materials, click here.

back to top

Note: To ensure proper delivery of our e-mails, add newsletter@siop.org to your address book, trusted sender list, or company white list. 

SIOP Copyright 2010 SIOP, INC.


Announcements (click a link for more information)

Renew Your Dues 

Kenneth E. Clark Student Research Award: Papers Due June 15  

Ram Charan HR Essay Contest: Submissions Due June 15   

Annual NIH SBIR/STTR Conference: June 22-23

Special Feature- Journal of Business and Psychology: Proposals Due July 1