Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google


Debra A. Major and Rebekah Cardenas
Old Dominion University

In the January 2002 edition of IOTAS we reported that 3 of 4 applied psychology Journals of the Century are edited by SIOP Members, however, all four journals are edited by SIOP Members! We failed to recognize SIOP Fellow, Jo-Ida Hansen, editor of Journal of Counseling Psychology. Please accept our apologies for the oversight and our congratulations!

Herman Aguinis, associate professor of management at the University of ColoradoDenver, and SIOP Fellow Eugene F. Stone- Romero, professor of psychology and I-O psychology PhD program coordinator at the University of Central Florida, have received the 2001 Academy of Management Research Methods Division Advancement of Organizational Research Methodology Award. This award recognizes the best paper on methodology published in any journal or book between January 1995 and December 1999. The award was given for the following article: Aguinis, H., & Stone-Romero, E. F. (1997). Methodological artifacts in moderated multiple regression and their effects on statistical power. Journal of Applied Psychology, 82, 192206. Herman and Gene will be recognized at a ceremony at the upcoming Academy of Management meetings in Denver, Colorado (August 2002).

On November 1, 2001, John W. Boudreau and Mirian Graddick-Weir were among the six individuals installed into the National Academy of Human Resources tenth class of Fellows. This honor is given to those who have attained the highest level of achievement in the HR profession. Candidates are nominated by their peers each year, elected by the entire body of Academy Fellows. Boudreau is currently an associate professor at Cornell University in the Department of Human Resource Studies, and is also the director of the Center for Advanced Human Resource Studies within the School of Industrial and Labor Relations. Graddick-Weir is the executive VP of Human Resources at AT&T.

Heather Roberts Fox, of Towson University and formerly of the APA Science Directorate, received an award from the director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health for pioneering work in guiding the development of academic training programs in the new field of Occupational Health Psychology. This award was presented at a November conference on graduate training initiatives in OHP held at the University of South Florida.

Chad H. Van Iddekinge of Clemson University won the 2001 Seymour Adler Scientist-Practitioner Doctoral Dissertation Grant for his proposal, Assessing Personality with a Structured Interview: The Effect of Faking and Question Type on Interviewer Ratings. This annual grant, in the amount of $5,000, is provided to the PhD candidate whose dissertation proposal best exemplifies a sound balance of rigorous, theory-guided academic research and practical business application.

We want to know about your honors, awards, book publications, and job changes.  Send items for IOTAS to Debra Major at dmajor@odu.edu.


April 2002 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home