Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

SIOP 2018 Special Thanks

Dear SIOP Colleagues:

This document outlines the information and instructions regarding submissions for the 33rd Annual Conference of the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP).  Both expert and novice SIOP presenters should pay careful attention to the guidelines, as we have made changes in certain submission elements (key revisions/additions are emphasized in bold throughout, as are other critical program-related details) with the overall goal of enhancing program quality.

For those of you who have submitted to many SIOP conferences, note the following updates/changes this year:

  • Switch from word count to character count for titles, abstracts, and press paragraphs
  • Additional requirements for Reproducible Research sessions
  • New Multidisciplinary sessions
  • Emphasis on alternative session types and debates
  • Emphasis on 50 minute sessions across all applicable sessions

Creating the program for our annual conference is a full-year, major endeavor that would not be possible without the dedicated efforts of hundreds of SIOP volunteers.  Joining me on the Strategic Program Planning Committee are Zack Horn as Past Program Chair for the exciting and successful 2017 conference in Orlando, and Tracey Rizzuto as Incoming Program Chair for 2019.  It is our responsibility to design, coordinate, and successfully deliver the SIOP 2018 conference program in Chicago, Illinois.  Several subcommittees manage pivotal pieces of the program, and the chairs of these subcommittees, along with their members, are listed below.

The SIOP Administrative Office supports our efforts under the outstanding leadership of Jeff Hughes, Executive Director.  We are very grateful to each member of the staff who contributes a unique expertise that ensures our success: Jen Baker, Stephany Below, Scott Case, Linda Lentz, Larry Nader, Jim Rebar, Barbara Ruland, Jayne Tegge,and Tracy Vanneman.

Volunteers are essential to ensuring the quality of the conference by reviewing a huge number of submitted proposals (last year we received 1,436!).  Please consider volunteering to be a conference reviewer and watch for the e-mail inviting reviewers, which will detail a few key updates to make reviewing a more rewarding experience.

Finally, our thanks go to those who have taken the time to provide valuable feedback on ways to continuously improve the SIOP program and conference.  We are in the process of making several changes in response to your suggestions.  We know from your input that attending and presenting at SIOP provides an immense opportunity for professional growth, learning, and networking, and we take very seriously our responsibility in ensuring those goals are achieved. 

We hope you will help us celebrate our 33rd conference.  I am truly honored to be a part of the planning team and greatly look forward to seeing everyone in Chicago!

Tracy Kantrowitz, Program Chair | CEB is now Gartner
E-mail: program@siop.org

Strategic Program Planning Committee
Tracy Kantrowitz, Program Chair (2018)
Tracey Rizzuto, Incoming Program Chair (2019)
Zack Horn, Past Program Chair (2017)

Call for Proposals/Flanagan Award Subcommittee
Rob Stilson (Chair)
Jensen Mecca
Carolyn Winslow
Caitlin Porter
James Kurtessis

Communities of Interest Subcommittee
Dev Dalal (Chair)
Dustin Jundt
Bing Lin
Katharine O’Brien
Jason Randall

Friday Seminars Subcommittee
Richard Chambers (Chair)
Andrea Bizarro
Meredith Coats
Nate Dvorak
Ashley McIntryre
Meghan Thornton-Lugo
Bart Weathington

Special Sessions Subcommittee
Levi Nieminen (Chair)
Craig Dawson
Ken Lahti
Richard Landers
Taylor Peyton Roberts
Jennifer Weiss

Theme Track Subcommittee
Tracey Rizzuto (Chair)
Silvia Bonaccio
Richard Landers
Chloe Lemelle
Katina Sawyer
Evan Sinar

2017 Conference Program Format

Back to Table of Contents