Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2000 SIOpen Golf Outing

Thursday, April 13, 2000
Lakewood Country Club, New Orleans, LA
1:00 p.m. Shotgun Start

* * * FEBRUARY 28, 2000 ENTRY DEADLINE * * *

Chuck ("Nassau") Lance and Jos ("Skins") Cortina invite you to participate in the 4th Annual SIOpen Golf Outing at the Lakewood Country Club the afternoon of April 13, 2000 in New Orleans, Louisiana, just prior to this year's SIOP meeting. Lakewood Country Club is only about 4 miles from the New Orleans Hyatt Regency across the Mississipi Bridge on General DeGaulle Drive. (see www.lakewoodgolf.com/lccmap.htm for a local area map).

Although the weather was not cooperative last year, the 1999 SIOpen at Stone Mountain Golf Club outside Atlanta was again well attended with 20 participating foursomes. We hope you can join us (again) this year.

Founded in 1919, Lakewood Country Club is very convenient to the New Orleans Hyatt Regency and has hosted 26 New Orleans Open Championships. So tread where past champions such as Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, Gary Player, Lee Trevino, Seve Ballesteros, and Ben Crenshaw (and even Bo Wininger!) have bested the field in years past at Lakewood! Read some of the club's history at www.lakewoodgolf.com/history.htm and check out the course layout (Par 72, 6,673 yards) at www.lakewoodgolf.com/layout.htm. Thanks to Ron Landis for helping us select what promises to be a great venue for the 2000 SIOpen!

The format for the 2000 SIOpen will again be a 4-person scramble (each team member hits a tee shot, selects the best shot, each team member hits from there, selects the best shot again, etc.). Form your own team or Jos and Chuck will team you up. The entry fee of $60 includes greens fees, electric cart, and prizes (longest drive, closest to the pin, etc.). And this year, Dan Sachau has arranged sponsors (including Allyn and Bacon) who will provide prizes and refreshments for SIOpen participants.

Players of ALL skill levels are welcomed: Teams will be appropriately handicapped. Defending "champions" are the Minnesota State University team of Dan Sachau, Jason Miller, and Todd Bricker who have retained the coveted "Hugo Cup" somewhere amongst their 10,000 lakes since last year's SIOpen. Winners of the 2000 SIOpen will retain the "Hugo Cup" until the 2001 SIOpen in San Diego.

To register for the 1999 SIOpen, complete the form here and mail it to Jos Cortina, Psychology Department, MSN3F5, 4400 University Dr., George Mason University, Fairfax, VA 22030. Completed entry forms must be received by February 28, 2000. Be sure also to indicate your participation in the Golf Outing on your General SIOP Conference Pre-Registration Form and include payment in your grand total.

Workshop Table of Contents || SIOP Home