Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google


Stephen Young
Florida Tech

Nathan T. Carter was appointed assistant professor of psychology at the University of Georgia. Nathan is a graduate of Bowling Green State University, with research interests in the application of psychometric theory to the psychology of work, the history of applied psychology, and judgment and decision making in employee selection and attraction. He joins current I-O faculty members Lillian Eby, Brian Hoffman, Karl Kuhnert, Chuck Lance, and Kecia Thomas.

The faculty and staff of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Baltimore were pleased to welcome Laura Koppes Bryan as their new dean as of Fall 2012. Laura was formerly professor and director of the School of Psychological and Behavioral Sciences at the University of West Florida. She is well known throughout the SIOP community particularly as a former editor of TIP, SIOP historian, and SIOP Fellow. Laura has a distinguished career as an educator, teacher, and researcher and is widely published in areas ranging from the history of I-O psychology to women’s issues and work and family balance.

Nancy Tippins (chair) and William Strickland were recently appointed to a new National Academy of Science panel, sponsored by the Federal Aviation Administration. The committee will conduct a study of the assumptions and methods used by the Federal Aviation Administration to estimate staffing needs for FAA systems specialists to ensure proper maintenance and certification of the national airspace system.

Honors and Awards

Dianna Stone was presented with the 2012 Sage Award for scholarly contributions to research on gender and diversity. It was awarded by the Gender and Diversity Division of the Academy of Management.

Eduardo Salas was awarded the 2012 McGrath Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Study of Groups and Teams. This award, given by the Interdisciplinary Network for Group Research, recognizes his many scholarly contributions to the understanding and improvement of team performance. In addition, Eduardo won the $50,000 Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award in October from the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM), the HR Certification Institute, and the SHRM Foundation. He won the Losey Award for his prolific research on effectiveness, productivity, and training of workplace teams.

Erin M. Eatough, of the University of South Florida, is the 2012 winner of HumRRO’s Meredith P. Crawford Fellowship in Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Named for HumRRO's founder and first president, the fellowship includes a $12,000 stipend to a doctoral student demonstrating exceptional professional potential and research skills.

Kizzy M. Parks was a 2013 Woman Worth Watching award winner. The award is sponsored by the Profiles in Diversity journal.

Good luck and congratulations!

Keep your colleagues at SIOP up to date. Send items for IOTAS to Lisa Steelman at lsteelma@fit.edu.