Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

SHRM Honors Frank Schmidt with $50,000 Losey Award

Clif Boutelle

Frank Schmidt,
a professor of human resources research at the University of Iowa Tippie College of Business, is the recipient of the 2005 Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award. He received the honor in June from the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) at its annual meeting in San Diego. 

Schmidt will receive $50,000 to help facilitate his future research in the field.

The award recognizes human resource researchers or professionals whose outstanding contributions advance the field and acknowledges significant past research accomplishments.

In presenting the award, SHRM President and CEO Susan R. Meisinger cited Schmidts dedication and research to the HR profession over the last 3 decades, which has helped shape the direction of HR and made it the profession we recognize today.

Schmidt is a notable figure in the development of validity generalization methods. He has conducted numerous studies, including researching the correlation between employee attitudes and financial outcomes, employee job satisfaction and job performance, and workfamily conflict and job satisfaction. His research contributions in the area of HR have added considerably to HR thinking, theory, and practice in multiple concentrations. 

Schmidt has been widely recognized for his research, including awards from the American Psychological Association and the HR Division of the University of Iowa. He was awarded SIOPs Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award in 1995 and has been elected to Fellowship status.

His research spans more than 25 years and includes some 150 published studies, six books, and numerous other papers. 

Schmidt earned both his masters and doctoral degrees in industrial psychology from Purdue University. 

The special research fund, named in honor of retired SHRM President and CEO Michael R. Losey, was endowed with a $1.25 million gift in 2000. SHRM, the Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI), and the SHRM Foundation jointly funded the endowment.

Schmidt was selected by a seven member panel, including representatives from SHRM, the SHRM Foundation, and HRCI.

In 2002, Edward E. Lawler III was the first recipient of the Losey Award.

October 2005 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home