Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google


Adrienne M. Bauer and Laura L. Koppes
Eastern Kentucky University


The International Association of Conflict Management (IACM) awarded the annual Outstanding Article Award to Michele Gelfand, Marianne Higgins, Lisa Nishii, Jana Raver, Alex Dominguez, Fumio Murakami, Susumu Yamaguchi, and Midori Toyama for their article, Culture and egocentric perceptions of fairness in conflict and negotiation (Journal of Applied Psychology, 87[5]). This award honors the best article in the conflict management domain published in 2002. 

Eugene Stone-Romero, University of Central Florida, recently won the International Community Award in Orlando, FL. He was honored for his extensive contributions to research on diversity in organizations, his commitment to developing minority students, and involvement with PRIMO, a research partnership between the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida community.

During the 2004 Annual APA Convention, held July 28August 1 in Honolulu, Ed Fleishman received the American Pschological Foundation Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Application of Psychology. This award recognizes Ed's distinguished career and enduring contributions in advancing the application of psychology through methods, research, and application of psychological science to important practical problems. The complete citation appears in the July/August issue of the American Psychologist.

In addition, during the convention, Ed received the John C. Flanagan Award for Lifetime Achievements in Military Psychology from APA Divsion 19.

Gary Latham received the Distinguished Scholar Practitioner Award from the Academy of Management in recognition of significant contributions to the field of management. In addition, Gary received the 2004 Heneman Career Achievement Award from the Human Resource Division of the Academy of Management.


Transitions, Appointments, and New Affiliations

Annette Towler will be joining faculty of the Institute of Psychology (I-O include Roya Ayman, Nam Raju, Scott Morris, and Dan Lezotte) at the Illinois Institute of Technology. 

David Youssefnia has launched Critical Metrics, LLC. Based in New York, David can be reached via e-mail at david@critical-metrics.com.

Robert Dipboye has joined the University of Central Florida as chair in of Department of Psychology.

Jana Raver from the University of Maryland has joined the faculty of Queens School of Business at Queens University in Ontario, Canada. 

Ira Kaplan has been appointed director of Hofstra Universitys new PhD Program in Applied Organizational Psychology. Jinyan Fan from Ohio State University and Kelly Rutkowski from Florida Institute of Technology have joined the core faculty consisting of Kaplan, William Metlay, Comila Shahani-Denning, and Terri Shapiro. The program will emphasize the integration of scientific rigor and practical application.

David W. Bracken has joined Applied Psychological Techniques, Inc. (APT) as director. In his new position, Dr. Bracken will direct human resource consulting services in the areas of selection, multisource assessment, survey design, performance management and executive assessment for APTs list of Fortune 100 clients and other companies.

Sarah Rassenfoss Johnson has joined Genesee Survey Services in Rochester, NY as a consultant. She will be working with clients to design, implement, and interpret employee surveys. Sarah most recently was director, Executive Talent Management and Organization Research at Eastman Kodak. 

John Arnold, one of the founders of HRStrategies (now Aon Consulting), is emerging from retirement. He has founded a new business, Polaris Assessment Systems, that focuses on entry-level testing and interview systems. More information on the new company is available on its Web site: www.polaristest.com.

Jessica Saltz, who has recently completed her PhD at the University of Maryland, has joined Altrias Leadership Development and Diversity group as an organization development specialist. She joins Traci Berliner, who is the vice president of this group.

Blackwell Publishing announces the acquisition of Personnel Psychology. Blackwell already has taken over publication of Personnel Psychology, ranked 7th out of 49 journals in applied psychology according to the 2003 ISI social science citation report.

Best wishes to all!!

Keep your fellow SIOP members up to date! Send your items for IOTAS to Laura Koppes at laura.koppes@eku.edu.

October 2004 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home