Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

New SIOP Fellows Announced and 2008 Awards, Scholarships, and Grants Presented

by Kristen Ross

At this year’s conference there were 20 outstanding I-O psychologists recognized as SIOP Fellows. A SIOP Fellow is a distinguished industrial and organizational psychologist who has made an unusual and outstanding contribution to the field.  

The new Fellows including: Tammy Allen, Maureen Ambrose, Julian Barling, Robert Baron, Allan Church, Lillian Eby, Cynthia Fisher, Deborah Gebhardt, Rodger Griffeth, Michael Harris, Beryl Hesketh, Calvin Hoffman, Howard Klein, Robert Liden, Rodney McCloy, S. Morton McPhail, Frederick Morgenson, Philip Podsakoff, Jack Wiley, and Dov Zohar

Also at the conference the SIOP Foundation’s awards, scholarships, and grants were presented. Congratulations to all the 2008 recipients: 

Graduate Student Scholarship
This scholarship recognizes achievement in a graduate career and is intended to assist doctoral students in I-O psychology with the costs of carrying out their dissertation work. There are two recipients this year, Sonia Ghumman of Michigan State University and Whitney Botsford of George Mason University.  

Lee Hakel Graduate Student Scholarship
This scholarship is in honor of Lee Hakel, director of the SIOP Administrative Office from 1995 to 2005 and a leader in the establishment of the SIOP Foundation. The 2008 recipient is Liu-Qin Yang of the University of South Florida.  

Leslie W. Joyce and Paul W. Thayer Graduate Fellowship
This fellowship is designed to provide financial support to a doctoral student in I–O psychology who is specializing in training and development and/or selection and placement. Ari Malka of the University of Houston is this year’s winner.  

SIOP Small Grant Program
This grant program supports SIOP members' research activities in areas that have impact on both practitioners and academicians, and foster cooperation between practitioners and academicians. A small grant was awarded to Lisa Finkelstein of Northern Illinois University, Kurt Kraiger of Colorado State University, and Jerry Wittmer of the State of Colorado for their research entitled “Organizational and Process Influences on the Effectiveness of Formal Mentoring Programs.” Another grant was presented to Nathan Bowling of Wright State University, and Jeffery Labrador and John McKee of Kenexa for the proposal “Organizational Commitment and Job Performance: Is the Relationship Spurious?” 

Robert J. Wherry Award
This award is presented in recognition of the best paper at the Industrial Organizational/Organizational Behavior Graduate Student Conference. This year’s winner is Elizabeth Conjar of George Mason University for her presentation “The Impact of Task and Relationship Conflict on Team Structure: A Social Network Approach.”  

John C. Flanagan Award
This award recognizes the best student poster at the SIOP conference. To be considered for this award, the student must be the first author on the paper. The 2008 award winners are Elizabeth Conjar of George Mason University and Dan Horn of the U.S. Army Research Institute for their poster “Formal and Emergent Leaders’ Cognitive Accuracy in Social Networks.” 

Best LGBT Paper Award
This award is presented to recognize a poster or paper focusing on lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, or transgender issues in the workplace. Submissions may involve empirical research, theory, or teaching-related activities. The winners are Frank D. Golom and Benjamin E. Liberman of the Teacher’s College at Columbia University for their paper “ ‘Think Manager, Think Male:’ Stereotypes of Gay and Lesbian Managers.”  

S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Research Award
This award is given in recognition of the best doctoral dissertation research in the field of industrial and organizational psychology. The winning dissertation research should demonstrate the use of research methods that are both rigorous and creative. Subrahmaniam Tangirala of the University of Maryland is this year’s winner for his dissertation entitled “Exploring Non-Linearity in Employee Voice: The Effects of Personal Control and Organizational Identification.”  

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award
This award is given in recognition of the best publication ― appearing in a refereed journal ― in the field of industrial and organizational psychology. David A. Harrison of Pennsylvania State University, Daniel A. Newman of the University of Maryland, and Philip L. Roth of Clemson University are this year’s recipients for their article “How Important Are Job Attitudes? Meta-Analytic Comparison of Integrative Behavior Outcomes and Time Sequences,” which appeared in the Academy of Management Journal. 

M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace
This award is given in recognition of a project or product representing an outstanding example of the practice of industrial and organizational psychology in the workplace.

This award is presented to an individual practitioner or team of practitioners who have developed and conducted or applied a specific project or product representing an example of outstanding practice of I–O psychology in the workplace. The 2008 Myers award goes to George Alliger, Winston Bennett, Chuck Colgrove, Rebecca Beard, and Michael Garrity for their work on the Mission Essential Competency process. The Myers award winners this year donated their financial award to the SIOP Foundation.         

Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award
This award is presented to an individual who has made distinguished contributions to the science and/or practice of I–O psychology within 7 years of receiving their PhD degree. In order to be considered for the 2008 award, nominees must have defended their dissertation no earlier than 2001. This year’s winner is Remus Illies of Michigan State University. 

Distinguished Teaching Contributions Award
This award is presented in recognition of SIOP members who demonstrate a sustained record of excellence in teaching, as revealed by excellence in the classroom or via Web–based teaching, student development, and community service via teaching. There is no restriction on the specific courses taught, only that the courses concern perspectives or applications of I–O psychology. This year’s recipient is Michelle (Mikki) Hebl of Rice University. 

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award
This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the science of industrial and organizational psychology.  This award is given to the individual who has made the most distinguished empirical and/or theoretical scientific contributions to the field of I–O psychology. Fritz Drasgow of the University of Illinois at Urban-Champaign is the 2008 winner. 

Distinguished Professional Contributions Award
This award is given to an individual who has developed, refined, and implemented practices, procedures, and methods that have had a major impact on both people in organizational settings and the profession of I–O psychology. The contributions of the individual should have advanced the profession by increasing the effectiveness of I–O psychologists working in business, industry, government, and other organizational settings. Morgan McCall of the University of Southern California is this year’s recipient. 

For more information about SIOP’s awards, scholarships and grants, please visit the SIOP Foundation Web site