Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

SIOP 2013 Preconference Workshops

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Liberty J. Munson
Microsoft Corporation

The Workshop Committee has identified a diverse selection of innovative and timely topics to offer this year, as well as a spectacular set of experts to lead these workshops. The lineup includes:

Broadening the Basis for Validation Evidence: Alternative Strategies and Their Implications. S. Morton McPhail, CEB Valtera; Calvin C. Hoffman, LA County Sheriff’s Department; Damian J. Stelly, CEB Valtera. Coordinator: Ryan O’Leary, PDRI

Assessing the Legal Risks of Your Assessments. Kathleen K. Lundquist, APTMetrics; Nancy E. Rafuse, Esq., Ashe, Rafuse & Hill, LLP. Coordinator: Lorin Mueller, Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy

Retooling Performance Management: Science, Practice, and Art. Seymour Adler, AON Hewitt; Miriam Ort, PepsiCo. Coordinator: Darin Wiechmann, Bank of America

Integrated Talent Management: Methods for Integrating Talent Management Initiatives to Drive Organizational Performance. Mike Dolen, Kenexa; Leslie Joyce, Novelis. Coordinator: John Howes, Kenexa

Building a Coaching Culture Through Strategic Choices. Doug Riddle, Center for Creative Leadership; Chris Pollino, Genentech/Roche. Coordinator: Aarti Shyamsunder, Catalyst

Organizational Climate and Culture: Manifestations, Measurement, and Management. Benjamin Schneider, CEB Valtera; Mark G. Ehrhart, San Diego State University. Coordinator: Rob Michel, Edison Electric Institute 

Viewing Linkage Research Through the Lenses of Current Practice and Cutting-Edge Advances. Robert E. Gibby, Procter & Gamble; Rodney A. McCloy, HumRRO; Dan Putka, HumRRO. Coordinator: Emily Solberg, CEB Valtera

I-O and IT Together in Perfect Harmony: Best Practices When Collaborating with IT Teams. Kevin Impelman, Kenexa; Nathan Mondragon, Oracle; Tami J. Licht, Development Dimensions International, Inc. (DDI). Coordinator: Jerilyn Hayward, ServiceMaster 

Building a Compelling Brand: Guidebook for I-Os. Wayne F. Cascio, University of Colorado Denver; Cristina G. Banks, Lamorinda Consulting, LLC. Coordinator: Paul Yost, Seattle Pacific University

The I-O Leap: Transitioning Into—and Succeeding in—Business. Rick Guzzo, Mercer; Alexis Fink, Intel Corporation. Coordinator: Leanne Bennett, JP Morgan

What’s All the Buzz About? The Most Impactful I-O Research Developments of the Last Five Years. Paul R. Sackett, The University of Minnesota; Nancy T. Tippins, CEB Valtera. Coordinator: Christina Norris-Watts, Macquarie Group Limited

Psychometrics for the Rest of Us, Practical Answers to Common Measurement Questions. Jeff Foster, Hogan Assessment Systems. Coordinator: Laura Heaton, The Hershey Company

Something NEW for 2013! For the first time, we are offering an opportunity to register for one workshop (either morning or afternoon) at a reduced cost of $300 for members and $485 for nonmembers. Because workshop attendees find the networking opportunities available during workshops to be one of the most valuable aspects of attending, the registration fee includes lunch as well as the reception. For those of you who find it difficult to attend a full day of workshops, this option should give you more flexibility to attend, learn, and network!

You do not want to miss the 2013 workshops! Not only will you learn new skills and grow professionally, you will also have the opportunity to network with recognized experts in these content areas, as well as with other prominent professionals in our field who will be attending workshops with you.

Detailed workshop descriptions and presenters’ biographical sketches are provided in the preconference announcement and on the SIOP Web site.

The 2012–2013 Workshop Committee consists of:

  • Leanne Bennett, JP Morgan
  • Erica Desrosiers, Workshop Chair-in-Training, PepsiCo
  • Jerilyn Hayward, ServiceMaster
  • Laura Heaton, The Hershey Company
  • John Howes, Kenexa
  • Ted Kinney, Select International
  • Robert Michel, Edison Electric Institute
  • Lorin Mueller, Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
  • Liberty Munson, Workshop Chair, Microsoft Corporation
  • Christina Norris-Watts, Macquarie Group Limited
  • Ryan O’Leary, PDRI
  • Aarti Shyamsunder, Catalyst
  • Emily Solberg, The Corporate Executive Board
  • Darin Wiechmann, North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System
  • Paul Yost, Seattle Pacific University