Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

Eisma, Shoemaker, and Haaland win Hugo Cup!

Lance Andrews
SIOPen correspondent

Tom Eisma is on the left, Jayson Shoemaker is in the middle and Doug Haaland is on the right (not holding trophy).

Los AngelesScrambling for birdies on a golf course that yielded them grudgingly, Tom Eisma, Doug Haaland, and Jayson Shoemaker won the 2005 Hugo Cup with a net score of 58. The Eisenhower Course at the Pacific Palms Resort (you may remember the course from the movies Caddyshack and Falling Down) played host to the Quasi-Annual SIOPen golf tournament held during the 2005 SIOP Conference in Los Angeles. 

The tournament featured a 53-player field, all vying for the coveted Hugo Cup. After a 3-year reign as SIOPen Champions, the Texas A&M team was dethroned. George Masons Eric Barger, Nathan Sloan, and Pat Flemming shot a 58 en route to their third consecutive second-place finish. The team lost in a tiebreaker. The low-gross score honor went to the team from Minnesota State University comprised of Jason Miller, Andrew Mollenbeck, Seiji Takaku, and Dan Sachau, who carded a 60.

Seiji Takaku and Leifur Hafsteinsson won Closest to the Pin awards. John Dononvan drove the longest drive, and Pete Krohse hit the most accurate drive.

Dan Sachau, the tournament organizer commented, We had perfect weather and the course was in great shape. I would like to thank Linda Lentz and Lee Hakel from SIOP for their help organizing the event. I would also like to thank the folks at TalentSmart, Marcie Mealia at McGraw Hill, as well as Jude Hall at Allyn and Bacon for providing prizes. I should also thank my colleagues at MSU for providing refreshments for the golfers. We are already looking forward to the Next SIOPen in Dallas. 

July 2005 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home