Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2002 SIOP Award Winners

Timothy A. Judge, Chair
SIOP Awards Committee

On behalf of the SIOP Awards and Executive Committees, I am delighted to present the 2002 SIOP Award Winners. These individuals and teams were recognized for their outstanding contributions to I-O psychology at the 2002 Annual Conference held in Toronto. Congratulations to all the following award winners!

Gary P. Latham

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award

Gary P. Latham (University of Toronto) is recognized for his many theoretical contributions to the field of industrial-organizational psychology. These include the codevelopment of goal-setting theory, especially as regards the effects of participation, learning goals, and proximal goals on performance; the development and validation of the situational interview; and training studies that are classics in the field. Gary is also the first winner of the Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award to have also won the Distinguished Professional Contributions Award.

Robert D. Pritchard

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award


Robert D. Pritchard (Texas A&M University) is recognized for his significant theoretical and empirical contributions in the areas of motivation and organizational productivity. His 25-year research program on measuring and improving organizational productivity has led to an international collaboration where his approach has been used in many countries by different research groups. This work has had an important impact on the field and on the many organizations that have used it. 

George C. Thornton III

 Distinguished Professional Contributions Award

George C. Thornton III (Colorado State University) is recognized for his many professional contributions to the practice, theory, and research of industrial-organizational psychology. He is a renowned expert on the development, implementation, and evaluation of assessment center methodologies. Through these efforts, George has helped to make the assessment center among the most useful tools available to industrial-organizational psychology. His career spans 4 decades. During that time, he has been a faculty member at Colorado State University and an accomplished consultant. As such, he epitomizes the scientistpractitioner model.

Michele J. Gelfand

 Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award

Michele J. Gelfand (University of Maryland) is recognized for her early career contributions to industrial-organizational psychology. Michele has made important early career contributions through her pioneering research on cross-
cultural industrial-organizational psychology, as well as her research on negotiation and diversity.

Remus Ilies

 John C. Flanagan Award for Outstanding Student
Contribution to the SIOP Conference

Remus Ilies (University of Florida) is recognized for his poster, Individual Differences in Leadership Emergence, coauthored by Timothy A. Judge (University of Florida) and Megan Werner (University of Iowa).

Elaine D. Pulakos, Sharon Arad, Michelle A. Donovan, and
Kevin E. Plamondon

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award        


Elaine D. Pulakos and Sharon Arad (Personnel Decisions Research Institutes), Michelle A. Donovan (University of Illinois), and Kevin E. Plamondon (Michigan State University) are recognized for the best article published in industrial-organizational psychology in 2000. (Pulakos, E. D., Arad, S., Donovan, M. A., and Plamondon, K. E., 2000, Adaptability in the workplace: Development of a taxonomy of adaptive performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 85, 612624.)

E. Allan Lind, Jerald Greenberg, Kimberly S. Scott,
and Thomas D. Welchans

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award


E. Allan Lind (Duke University), Jerald Greenberg and Kimberly S. Scott (The Ohio State University), and Thomas D. Welchans are recognized for the best article published in industrial-organizational psychology in 2000. (Lind, E. A., Greenberg, J., Scott, K. S., & Welchans, T. D., 2000, The winding road from employee to complainant: Situational and psychological determinants of wrongful-termination claims. Administrative Science Quarterly, 45, 557590.)

Norman G. Peterson, Michael D. Mumford, Walter C. Borman,
P. Richard Jeanneret, and Edwin A. Fleishman

M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace 


Norman G. Peterson and Michael D. Mumford (American Institutes for Research), Walter C. Borman (Personnel Decisions Research Institutes and George Mason University), P. Richard Jeanneret (Jeanneret & Associates, Inc.), and Edwin A. Fleishman (Management Research Institute, Inc.) are recognized for their program of research, O*Net, the comprehensive system developed to replace the Dictionary of Occupational Titles and designed to describe occupations, jobs, and work. 

Steven M. Rumery

Robert J. Wherry Award for the Best Paper
 at the IOOB Conference

Steven M. Rumery (University of Connecticut and Leadership Research Institute) is recognized for his paper, The Design and Validation of a Measure of Workgroup Turnover Culture.



Todd J. Maurer

Sidney A. Fine Grant Award

Also announced at the Conference was the first winner of the Sidney A. Fine Grant Award for Research. It was presented to Todd J. Maurer for his proposal entitled, Improvability Ratings of KSAOs: Relevance to the Study of Jobs.


2002 SIOP Awards Committee Members 

Tammy Allen

Milt Hakel Ed Salas

Wally Borman

Mike Harris Steve Scullen

Dan Cable

Scott Highhouse Lynn Shore
Mike Campion John Hollenbeck Jim Smither
Allan Church Gary Latham Lynn Summers
Jan Cleveland

Paul Levy

Paul Tesluk
Jason Colquitt Jennifer Martineau

Lois Tetrick

John Cordery Joe Martocchio Paul Thayer
Jos Cortina Cynthia McCauley Dan Turban
Angelo DeNisi Fred Morgeson Vish Viswesvaran
Fritz Drasgow Ray Noe Susan Walker
Jim Farr Deniz Ones Connie Wanberg
Steve Gilliland Cheri Ostroff Sandy Wayne
Maynard Goff Jean Phillips Bob Wood
Irv Goldstein Rob Ployhart Shelly Zedeck
Stan Gully Belle Rose Ragins Jing Zhou


July 2002 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home