Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

2001 SIOP Award Winners

Timothy A. Judge
University of Iowa 

The SIOP Awards Committee has completed its major work for the yearselecting the 2001 award winners! I would like to thank the committee members (identified at the end of this column.). I especially wish to thank the four subcommittee chairsRich Klimoski (McCormick Award), Joe Martocchio (Wallace Award), Allan Church (Myers Award), and Dan Turban (Owens Award). I should note that since one of my articles was nominated for the Owens Award, Dan and his committee dealt directly with Nancy Tippins and the SIOP Executive Committee. A special thank you to Lee Hakel and her staff at the SIOP Administrative Office, who made my job much easier. Thank you one and all!

On behalf of the SIOP Awards and Executive Committees, I am delighted and honored to present the 2001 SIOP Award Winners. These individuals and teams were recognized for their outstanding contributions to I-O psychology at the 2001 Annual Conference held in San Diego. Congratulations to all the following award winners!

Daniel R. Ilgen 
Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award

Daniel R. Ilgen (Michigan State University) is recognized for his significant theoretical and empirical contributions to the fields of performance appraisal, feedback processes, and individual and group decision making. In addition, his 24-year commitment to and involvement with the journal, Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, as editorial board member, associate editor and editor, has helped to shape our discipline. He continues to contribute in a variety of ways to our understanding of psychological processes and their impact on important organizational actions and activities.

David P. Campbell 
Distinguished Professional Contributions Award

David P. Campbell (Center for Creative Leadership) is recognized for his many professional contributions to industrial-organizational psychology, including his work on the Strong-Campbell Vocational Interest Blank (SVIB), which continues to be one of the most widely used devices in the world for occupational counseling. Dr. Campbell also is recognized for his leadership of the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) and, most recently, his development of a series of assessment devices for career interests and skills, among other assessments.

James Farr 
Distinguished Service Contributions Award

James Farr (Pennsylvania State University) is recognized for his outstanding service contributions. Among his many contributions to SIOP, Dr. Farr served as Division 14 representative to the American Psychological Association, served on the SIOP Executive Committee, was editor of The Industrial-Organizational Psychologist (TIP), and was SIOP president in 19961997. During his presidency, Dr. Farrs two most significant accomplishments were to increase the visibility of SIOP internationally and to emphasize the importance of pro bono work by SIOP members.

Dan Cable 
Ernest J. McCormick Award for Early Career Contributions

Dan Cable (University of North Carolina) is recognized for his early career contributions to I-O psychology. Dr. Cable (PhD, Cornell University, 1995) is recognized for his pioneering research on person-organization fit and careers.

Jose Cortina
Ernest J. McCormick Award for Early Career Contributions

Jose Cortina (George Mason University) is recognized for his early career contributions to I-O psychology. Dr. Cortina (PhD., Michigan State University, 1994) is recognized for his research that has advanced understanding of data analyses and research methods in applied psychology.

Timothy A. Judge, Chad A. Higgins,
Carl J. Thoresen, and Murray R. Barrick 

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award 


Timothy A. Judge (University of Iowa), Chad A. Higgins (University of Washington), Carl J. Thoresen (Tulane University), and Murray R. Barrick (Michigan State University) are recognized for the best article published in I-O psychology in 1999. (Judge, T. A., Higgins, C. A., Thoresen, C. J., & Barrick, M. R. [1999]. The Big Five personality traits, general mental ability, and career success across the life span. Personnel Psychology, 52, 621652.)

Eduardo Salas, Janice A. Cannon-Bowers,
Joan H. Johnston, Kimberly A. Smith-Jentsch, Carol Paris

 M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace


Eduardo Salas (University of Central Florida), Janis A. Cannon-Bowers, Joan Hall Johnston, Kimberly A. Smith-Jentsch, Carol R. Paris (Naval Air Warfare Center, Training Systems Division), are recognized for their program of research, Tactical Decision Making Under Stress (TADMUS), that contributes to our understanding of and improvement of decision making under stress. 

Robert E. Ployhart
S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Research Award

Robert E. Ployhart (University of Maryland) is recognized for his dissertation, A Construct-Oriented Approach for Developing Situational Judgment Tests in a Service Context. Dr. Ployhart received his PhD from Michigan State University, where Ann Marie Ryan served as chair of his dissertation committee.

Lisa M. Donahue, Donald Truxillo, and Lisa M. Finkelstein

John C. Flanagan Award for Outstanding Student
Contribution to the SIOP Conference


Lisa M. Donahue (George Mason University), student first author, and Donald Truxillo (Portland State University) and Lisa M. Finkelstein (Northern Illinois State University), co-authors, are recognized for their poster, Comparison of Three Approaches for Dealing with Aberrant Angoff Judges. 

Jennifer Palmer
Robert J. Wherry Award for the Best Paper
at the I-O/OB Conference

Jennifer Palmer (University of Tennessee) is recognized for her paper, Organizational Dynamics and Creativity.



Photo Highlights from SIOP 2001 Awards Ceremony




2001 SIOP Awards Committee Members

Wally Borman Scott Highhouse Neal Schmitt
Dan Cable John Hollenbeck Steve Scullen
Mike Campion Chuck Hulin Lynn Shore
Allan Church Rich Klimoski Jim Smither
Jan Cleveland Amy Kristof-Brown Cindy Stevens
Adrienne Colella Gary Latham Lynn Summers
Jason Colquitt Jeff LePine Mary Tenopyr
John Cordery Fred Mael Paul Thayer
Angelo DeNisi Jennifer Martineau Dan Turban
Bob Dipboye Joe Martocchio Vish Viswesvaran
Fritz Drasgow Fred Morgeson Susan Walker
Steve Gilliland Elizabeth Morrison Connie Wanberg
Maynard Goff Ray Noe Sandy Wayne
Irv Goldstein Deniz Ones Bob Wood
Milt Hakel Cheri Ostroff Shelly Zedeck
Paul Hanges Jean Phillips Jing Zhou
Michael Harris Ed Salas



July 2001 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home