Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google


Debra A. Major and Rebekah Cardenas
Old Dominion University

Awards and Honors

Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Counseling Psychology, Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, and Personnel Psychology have been named Journals of the Century in applied psychology. The November 2001issue of the APA Monitor contains a report about the ranking that appeared in The Serials Librarian, an international publication for librarians. The Best of the Century in Psychology ranking was compiled by Daniel E. Burgard, an instructional science librarian. His rankings took into account previous journal rankings, citations of the journals, and the amount of time a journal has impacted the field. Of particular note is the fact that 3 of the 4 journals are presently and have been previously edited by SIOP members: JAP (Kevin Murphy, Neal Schmitt, and Robert Guion), OBHDP (Dan Ilgen, and Jeff Edwards), and PP (John Hollenbeck, Mike Campion, Paul Sackett, and Milt Hakel, who is also the publisher of the journal).

Former APA president and SIOP Fellow, Robert Perloff, Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Business Administration and Psychology at the University of Pittsburgh, received the 4th annual (200l) Legacy Award from the Greater Pittsburgh Psychological Association (GPPA). This award honors psychologists who attend to the needs of the community and do their jobs with a willingness to share their knowledge for the common good. The award was presented to Dr. Perloff at the GPPA fall dinner-business meeting at which six legacy awards were given.

Former SIOP president and current SIOP Fellow, Irv Goldstein, received the University of Marylands 2001 Presidents Medal. This award is a rare distinction given to recognize extraordinary contributions to the social, intellectual, and cultural life of the campus. The medal was presented during a campus-wide ceremony on October 16, 2001, during which Dr. Goldstein gave an address.

SIOP member, H. John Bernardin, a university research professor at Florida Atlantic University and H. W. Hennessey, Jr. from University of Hawaii-Hilo received the 2001 SHRM Research Award for their paper entitled The Relationship Between Performance Appraisal Criterion Specificity and Statistical Evidence of Discrimination. The winning entry is awarded a plaque and a cash award of $1,000 funded by the SHRM Foundation. This paper is available online at: www.shrm.org/committees/awards/research2001.doc.

An article coauthored by SIOP members, Karyn H. Bernas and Debra A. Major, Contributors to Stress Resistance: Testing a Model of Womens Work-Family Conflict, was identified as one of the Top 20 work-family research articles published in 2000 by the Center for Families at Purdue University and The Boston College Center for Work and Family. This work appeared in Psychology of Women Quarterly.

Chad Van Iddekinge, a doctoral student at Clemson University, received the 4th annual HumRRO Meredith P. Crawford Fellowship in I-O Psychology. The award recognizes and supports a graduate student for outstanding research efforts with high potential for significant contributions to the field of I-O psychology.

New Affiliations

Robert Ployhart has joined the I-O psychology program at George Mason University. He received his degree from Michigan State University and was awarded the 2001 S. Rains Wallace award for his dissertation research. He joins SIOP members Lou Buffardi, Jose Cortina, Lynn McFarland, Steve Zaccaro, and Rich Klimoski, who is on loan this year to the School of Management at GMU.

Juan I. Sanchez of Florida International University has moved from the Department of Psychology to accept an appointment in the Department of Management and International Business. There he joins fellow SIOP member Galen Kroeck.


January 2002 Table of Contents | TIP Home | SIOP Home